Having Courage

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go. –Joshua 1:9 (NIV)

I am not a very brave individual. I can be quite bold, and I’m often too confrontational, but in my heart, I know that I am far too often a coward.


This is without a doubt the result of my fear of rejection, my fear of mankind, and ultimately my lack of understanding my identity in Christ.

The verse I’ve chosen from Joshua is just a small representation of what the Bible tells us about courage. The reason I can be courageous is because my God is strong, unbeatable, all-powerful, loving, good, holy, Creator, Savior, Sustainer…the list can go on and on.

I have wanted to do a blog for a long time. But, I’ve been afraid.

Really, I have numerous reasons that I could list about what has held me back, but ultimately, at the root, it has been because I have not followed through on something God has really put on my heart.

Over time, I hope to gain more courage by being obedient. I want to know the Lord in such a deep and abiding way that I stop seeing myself as His stumbling block.

Whatever comes from this moment in time, I want to be able to accept it, and I want to be able to live out the passions that my GOD has given to me.

The Clumsy T-Rex

One thought on “Having Courage

Leave a Reply

