Crafting a Quiet Life

I love words.

Reading them, writing them, thinking them, saying them. Everyone close to me would tell you, words are my THING! That is one of the motivations for this blog. To use my word-crafting in a new and challenging way.

But I also want to be known for more than my way with words.

The Bible has a lot to say about work. When God made Adam and Eve, He gave them a task.

When He sent His Son, He made Him the firstborn child of a carpenter. Even Paul, the great missionary, made a point to live his life with not just his words but also his hands.

Working with my hands DOES NOT come naturally to me. I prefer to make my real efforts with my mind and leave that physical labor for others.

My Father has a great sense of humor though. He gave me two sweet baby girls 11 months apart and the gift of being able to stay home with them. And now, I labor much with my body and a bit less with my mind.

This major change in my life has madly increased my desire to learn to work with my hands. And I’m making that effort.

While there are plenty of places in the Word that point to this type of work, we are studying 1 Thessalonians in our Sunday School class. Our teacher went over this section of Paul’s letter last week.

Yet we urge you, brothers and sisters, to do so more and more, and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody. -1 Thessalonians 4:10b-12

Part of me is really nervous about trying these new skills. I’m afraid to fail or not be good enough. I’m intimidated by the idea of the criticism that is likely to come to me.

Yet, I’m ready. To not be such a chatter and become something of a crafter.

With that said, be prepared to find many signs of my bring craftiness appearing around here!

With occupied hands,
Tiffany

Leave a Reply

