Boldness and Confession

This is an unscheduled interruption to my 31 Days posts (which begin here.)

I just got done reading an important article written by one of my favorite voices: Lore Ferguson at Sayable.net. And I must share my reaction to it. Since this is the spot where I’ve been doing most of reacting lately, I guessed the best place would be RIGHT HERE.

I am passionately interested in expression that is genuine and real and honest. I spent a GREAT DEAL of my life worried far too much about what other people thought of me, and I was unhealthy and afraid that I would be discovered for what I was: a sinner.

I’m more than blessed that the Lord brought me to a place in a church where I could learn what it means to be free. To know that expressing the deepest thoughts and feelings and SINS of my soul will change me and those around me. God made us to live in community and to be honest and real with each other.

James 5:16 (NIV) makes it REALLY clear: Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

He even went so far as to promise HEALING upon CONFESSION of these sins. The prayer that results, and the power of that prayer is EFFECTIVE. Whew. Serious? Love it.

Growing deeper with Christ requires great boldness and confession. The Word itself makes that clear.

I have been in Lore’s position as she articulates (exquisitely by the way) this struggle. I personally know how real the battle is with sexual sin because it is not just about having some avid addiction or some deviant desire. No, sexual sin is about a ROOT problem with our God-made desire to connect deeply and intimately with other people. Sexuality finds its best and MOST SPECIFIC satisfactions within the confines of a God-centered, Jesus-redeemed life and NOT within the whims and fancies of those oh-so-fickle emotions that drive impulsive, needy, and ultimately unsatisfying fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants cavings to sexual sin.

More than one woman is in my life struggling with sexual morality. I stand alongside these women with my own baggage and know the brokenness of living the world’s version of sexual satisfaction. And it sucks. For real.

So, I wanted to point you guys towards Lore’s blog and specifically this post. I pray that married or single, we can find our satisfaction, of every kind, in Christ and out of that ultimate fulfillment cascades the blessings of living intimately with Him.

I’d love to hear some specific reactions you guys have to Lore’s post. I’m always in the business of wanting to learn more about other people’s perspectives and stories. Comment anytime and feel free to contact me with the form below!

Living because Christ set me free,

Tiffany

Leave a Reply

