Hope in Waiting

In this deeper search into waiting, I will start to elaborate more on what I mean by waiting, because I’m sure it means different things to different people. For me, it has several meanings, but ultimately, waiting is about building character, and I am hoping in God’s work in that process.

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.–Proverbs 13:12

In the midst of waiting on God, I far too frequently doubt Him. I wonder, and I plan, and I hope to control the situation or the person or the place. Most of the time I desire control because I fear the outcome. I struggle with this desire to BE GOD instead of WAIT ON GOD.

Yet, He has revealed to me, time and time again, that I have great reason to hope. Not just because of life circumstances (because those are frequently present to grow me more and unlikely to be swept away simply because I hope for it), but also because of His Word.

Now the Bible is FULL UP on hope. It’s written from the hushed moments of the Creator’s outpouring into the void, and it is His last revelatory Word at the end of His Book.

The Apostle Peter (on which much has been said and written by people far smarter than me) had much to hope for and place his hope in, but he still faltered, as predicted. And yet, he wrote:

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade–kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.–1 Peter 1:3-6

That phrase “to suffer grief in ALL kinds of trials” has great meaning to me. There is much in my life that I have had to grieve, and it is a process that I do not willingly enter into, but I do understand the abiding necessity of it not only over death but over much that is lost, such as innocence and dreams and drive.

What strikes me most about waiting is that without having to wait for something like an answer to prayer or deliverance or change then hope would be impossible. The very heart of hope is that if we wait on God, He will bring good out of anything.

There is much hope in Waiting. God tells us repeatedly in His Word that hope sits right alongside faith and love. Waiting and hope are powerful tools God uses for me to grow and learn. And when He uses these moments and I keep my eyes on Him, the growth is even deeper.

I’d love to hear from you. What are some of your thoughts on hope and waiting?

Tiffany

6 thoughts on “Hope in Waiting

  1. Tiffany,

    Your thoughts are so encouraging to me as I feel like all I do in my twenties is wait – for my “real” life to start. To have a family, To buy a house. To be financially secure. You’re right in your observation that waiting demands hope and without it, hope wouldn’t need to exist. I love what The Lord has been teaching me about hope – even when it seems silly and all signs point to NO HOPE. It’s such a life-giving attitude and I’m thankful that the Spirit can bring it about in us – I know humanly I’m not capable of living with such a spirit of anticipation and hope. It’s divine.
    Love your heart!

    Chelsea

    Like

Leave a Reply

