Togetherness in Waiting

Ah community!

It seems to me I’ve been reading about this a lot this well or at least thinking about it a lot. I shared yesterday on loneliness while waiting, but today I want to share more about what it means to me to be together in community while waiting.

I’m not good at reaching out. I’m often plagued by insecurity and doubt. Sometimes I worry that I’m being a bother. Sometimes I fear that I see a relationship differently than the person I’m relating to. Sometimes I’m too prideful. Sometimes I’m too selfish.

But when I have had the courage to reach out in my times of waiting, I’ve found a deep well of love and care from God and my loved ones. After all, He made us to live in community.

One of the most beautiful pictures to me of what it means to truly come together and to live in community happens in my recovery program. I have learned, REPEATEDLY, through this program is that my identity is in Christ, and if I want to feel loved and be loved then I must give love. Living in community is not simply about being embraced and built up…it is also about embracing and building up.

In times of waiting, it is really simple to feel alone. Yesterday, I made that clear. I believe this is one of the reasons that God gifted us church membership. When we feel the most alone, and sometimes, the most isolated from God, faithfulness to our church family can be God’s voice to us in the loneliness and in the pain. IF we are willing to be honest and transparent.

I think it is easy for us to come together in community over a cause (which is a good thing and extremely important), but it seems so much harder to band together in our vulnerability. Why is it so hard?

Why is it so hard for me to admit that I am often selfish? Hard-headed? Mean? Judgmental? Critical?

Why is it so hard for you to admit _______________?

Why do we let ourselves be deluded into believing that we hide anything from each other?

What you have said in the dark will be heard in the daylight, and what you have whispered in the ear in the inner rooms will be proclaimed from the roofs.–Luke 12:3 (NIV)

 

Nothing will remain hidden. It is far more important for us to come together in our honest confession and walk alongside each other as we watch and wait for the Lord to do His work. We do our part through our faithfulness and submission, and God does His part in working all together for our GOOD.

This article from Corey Widmer featured at thegospelcoalition.org a few days ago really answered a prayer that I have had for a long time. I wanted to understand what it meant to ask someone who feels same-sex attraction to give up on their way of life. Corey’s answer…COMMUNITY…radical and accepting and vulnerable to its very heart, but constantly and continually moving towards Christ…looking to Christ…knowing Christ…and allowing Him to work on us.

My prayer today is that we would lean TOGETHER and look towards Christ for our continual hope in waiting.

Much love,

Tiffany

One thought on “Togetherness in Waiting

Leave a Reply

