God’s Yet

I’ve realized that one of the reasons I MOST like blogging is because I have a captive audience. Why, you might ask?

Because I talk a lot.

A lot, a lot. If you’ve been reading this blog or following along, you’d probably have guessed that pretty easily.

I’m a wordy person. Yes’m.

And as I was meditating on my wordiness yesterday (yes, that is really something I do), I realized that I love my blog for that very reason. People get to choose how many of my words they want at any given time. You are captive because you choose to step into my world for a few minutes of your day. You decide you have an interest and then boom, here you are…reading my words.

And I don’t have to fill a single moment of embarrassment that I’m talking your head off and you don’t care. Really, it means the world to me. 🙂

So, with that it my mind, I sat down to do a quiet time today.

I’m reading Psalm 8, and I have one of those moments.

Where one little word seems to rock my world. And it happened today.

Psalm 8:3-5 (ESV)

“When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him? Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor.”

You see, it got me down deep. Who am I that God is mindful of me? That He cares for me? Look at all of His creation, His deeds, His marvelous faithful. Look at Jesus! And who am I?

I feel that way so much in my life. Who am I to _______________? Who am I that any of these people would care about me? Would care what I have to say? Would care what I have to write?

And then, who am I that God would choose me to die for? Choose me to live for? Choose me to walk beside?

YET, He does.

He made me and crowned me with glory and honor.

Really? Cause, I seem to be walking around with a whole lot of guilt and shame. Feeling dirty and broken and disabled in ways I can’t even describe.

But gloried and honored? No. Not those things.

YET, He made me that way. YET, He chose to show His regard and His care by making me and saving me and redeeming me with the same hands that made the sun, moon, and stars.

YET. Jesus.

Hear me. Please. In the midst of all my words, please know this.

Jesus loves you.

Sound too simple. It is that simple.

While He could have left us to ourselves. To our reckless embracing of the dark and dirty and sinful, He did not.

YET, He loved us. When He didn’t have to. When He is so much greater and bigger and more than we could ever be or know or even WANT to know. YET, we get to.

I realized in this midst of this revelation that I always have a captive audience. Blog not required.

Jesus knew when He formed me that words would come to hold so much power and sway in my life. And He gave me this word today. To remember.

I am me. Yet, He loves me.

Contact/comment!

One thought on “God’s Yet

Leave a Reply

