To Recap

What a month! I have never done anything like this in my life, and I am so happy that I did!

I have learned far more about myself than I expected, and I am thrilled by how this 31 Days exploring the topic of Waiting has inspired change in my own heart and in my passion for writing. I have learned to embrace more and more of Jesus Christ and of myself, and I feel like this learning experience benefited more than just my desire to write. It benefited my spirit and my growth and my friendships and my marriage and my mothering. I had no idea that giving myself over to something that I love to do would draw out more and more of my heart.

Here is a list of things that I have learned over the last 31 days:

1. I have a long way to go as a writer.

2. Jesus is far beyond my capacity to understand in His entirety, which is why He is God and I. AM. NOT.

3. I want to keep doing this. If I have to have a vice, I don’t think writing is a bad one to choose.

4. I am not ONLY a writer. Writing has helped me to understand myself in a whole new way. I used to think I wanted to be defined as a WRITER. I was putting my faith in the idea that if I was a writer, my identity would be sealed. I’m learning that writing is part of who I am and part of the gifts God has given to me, but my identity is in Jesus Christ. If I stopped writing tomorrow, I’d still be a child of God, redeemed by the blood of Jesus, and on the road to eternity with Him.

This is a sampling. I feel like I could go on for days, but I want to take the time instead to let you guys know where I plan to go from here. I also want to ask for your prayers as this blog and my other pursuits move forward.

–This blog will go on! I originally started this blog in order to participate in the 31 Days Challenge. As a result, I have limited this month to exploring various aspects of WAITING. I hope that you as a reader have been challenged to explore this in your own heart. I am grateful that the habit of writing has been cultivated in my life through this challenge, and I am also glad that the limiting nature of the 31 Days topic is coming to an end. I have so many ideas! So many passions and desires and events that I want to write about, and I am excited to have that opportunity as I continue down this path.

–Over the holidays this year, I am going to be spending some special time with my paternal grandparents. They are my only grandparents still alive, and I have a strong desire to put together a bit of a biography of the two of them to share with my family and my children. My Granny has agreed to this process, and I am ecstatic.

–With my newly strengthened habit, I am going to pour some of my writing energy into that novel I’ve been promising myself I would complete for the last zillion years. I plan to reveal more about this over time. STAY TUNED!

–While I plan to keep blogging, I cannot commit to a post a day like I’ve done for October. I am, however, planning to post at least 2 (going to aim for 3) days during the week, to complete My Reads on Saturdays, and to take a day of rest every Sunday. If any of you have a topic that you’d be interested in hearing my opinion on, shoot me a comment or complete the below contact form.

This journey has been wonderful. Your support has been wonderful. I love all of you in Christ!

Leave a Reply

