Bowing and Confessing

Yesterday, my family and I had a great day with our local church family. Logos has been good for us in more ways that I know how to describe and understand and while we are sometimes still challenged by feelings of separation, this is a church body that loves God, loves the Word, and loves each other. I’m honored to be part of it.

Our pastor has been preaching through Philippians, which I can honestly say has been one of the highlights of my time with this church. Earlier in this series, he preached a convicting sermon on unity, and it forced me to rethink how I speak and act and think about my church.

For the first time, my husband and I were able to attend a small group with our church which meets at members’ homes on Sunday evenings. I’ll admit to nervousness and some intimidation. I was bringing a toddler and a now mobile infant into this meeting of adults, and even though I knew other babies and children would be present, I worried that I would be “that mom” trying desperately to make my kids behave and act proper.

I’m happy to note that my children were very much themselves, and this small group family accepted them as their own. I had no reason to fear, and if I had truly set my eyes upon Jesus in approaching that meeting, I would have realized that truth much sooner in the evening.

Our topic of discussion was the sermon preached that morning by our pastor. This sermon covered the following verses:

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place
    and gave him the name that is above every name,
10 that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow,
    in heaven and on earth and under the earth,
11 and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord,
    to the glory of God the Father.

Philippians 2:9-11 (NIV)

In recovery, I’ve done some work on the idea that I am not in control and that Jesus is in control. During the sermon it hit me hard that those are some pretty soft terms to use towards the Lord of Lords and the King of Kings. This idea of mine that I make Jesus Lord of my life is something ludicrous in terms of the verses above. God the Father exalted Jesus to Lord, and there will be day when every person ever and every angel ever and every demon ever and the Enemy will all bow.

Every knee will bow and every tongue will confess.

He is Lord whether we act like it or not. Whether we accept it or not. Whether we let Him in all the way or just a little bit. There is no MAKING Him something that He already is. We cannot possibly add to what God has already done in exalting Him.

What I feel like I am learning in this moment is that my confession has to be over and over and over and over again that Jesus is Lord. Jesus is Lord. Not Tiffany is letting Jesus be Lord today.

No. He IS Lord. I have to live like He is Lord and not like I just hope He will be today. I have to live in surrender to what He has already accomplished. In surrender to the power that He alone wields as the Most High.

I make it a point on this blog to regularly point out every person’s need for the Gospel. I pray that as you read this, if you have not accepted and confessed that Jesus is Lord that the Spirit would lead you to that confession and that you would be saved.

Leave a Reply

